Translating CEDAW into Law: CEDAW Legislative Compliance in Nine Pacific Island Countries

Vedna Jivan
Christine Forster

This report presents the results of a desk review conducted to assess if, how, and the degree to which the national laws of nine Pacific countries; Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, the , Papua New Guinea (PNG), Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu comply with the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW). This review assesses legislative (de jure) compliance with CEDAW rather than real or actual equality (de facto). Whilst it has been universally recognised, and emphasised in the Beijing Platform for Action, that de jure legislative compliance may not of itself result in de facto compliance, the pursuit of legislative compliance is nevertheless an important initial measure towards that goal.

Research Type(s)
UN/IGO Document
Submitted by Toksave
March 22, 2021
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Join the community

Subscribe to our newsletter

What are you looking for?

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Filter by Categories

Filter by Year

Filter by Review Status

Filter by Country